Français English

History of Lepage in North America

Before designating whole families, the name of Le page would have been attributed first to children placed with the nobles, but this name would also mean child, village or village. Some French people bearing this surname came to settle in New France in the 17th and 18th centuriese century. Barthelemy was Normand, Blaise was too. François-Joseph came from Picardy, François-Pierre du Limousin and Jacques de l'Angoumois. The first to come here are Constance, Louis and Germain. The two men come to New France as scouts. Born in the region of Courson-les-Carrières, in the town of Ouanne, they are the sons of Étienne and Nicole Berthelot. Louis and Germain are roughly the same age, with 1666, 1667, and 1681 censuses giving birth to 1640.

No contract of engagement allows us to fix with certainty the date of their arrival in the colony. They are generally thought to land at 1661 in Quebec City as hired for a period of thirty-six months. The only element that leads us to believe it is a document of Thursday 24 January 1664 where it is said that following a complaint by Charles LeGardeur was to seek and imprison "the name Louis le Page his servant servant (who ) to the detriment of the orders (...) had without any leave left his service having retired in the Coast and Lordship of Beaupré ". Here is a man who has spent enough time here dreaming of being the servant of no one! This escape has consequences that unfortunately we do not know, but it is certain that in July of the same year, the commitment of the two brothers is finished. The 9, Marie-Barbe de Boullogne, wife of Louis d'Ailleboust, grants them a few acres to take in the seigniory of Argentenay, in the parish of Sainte-Famille.

In 1666, this land is already divided between the two men who appear separately in the census. The following year, they share the same house and, already, fifteen arpents were put "in value". This common land will be the subject of an official division, the 24 October 1672. One can wonder about the reasons for this transaction occurring between the two closely related men who will prove, throughout the years, that harmony existed between them. But this gesture is imposed on them by the arrival of parents. The 24 August 1667, in front of the notary Pierre Duquet, Sebastienne Loignon or Aloignon, daughter of Pierre and Marie Roussin, of the Sainte-Famille parish, had promised Louis Lepage to marry him. She had kept her word and two children, Étienne and Marie-Madeleine had come to populate their little house. We now know, thanks to the compilations of the Directory of the acts of baptism, marriage, burial (...) published by the University of Montreal, that in the month of October 1672, other Lepage had arrived from France. Indeed, the 27 February 1673, René, Constance and Etienne Lepage are present at the baptism of Constance Duchesne, born 12, daughter of Pierre and Catherine Rivet. Who are these newcomers so quickly integrated into the small parish community? Constance is the sister of Louis and Germain. Étienne, whose name appears for the only time in the records of this parish, may be the father of these three pioneers. As for Rene, he is the son of Germain. There was much doubt about the presence in the country of Germain Lepage's wife. It is now verified that she arrived at the same time as the other members of the Lepage family, the records referring to her as Reine, Irene or Renee Lori, Lory, Lauri and Laury. She acts as godmother at several baptisms, giving her names to her nieces Renee Lepage and Reine Guérinet or Garnier, Reine Meneux, Renée Loignon, Reine Mesnil and Reine Deblois. Constance Lepage married François Garnier at Sainte-Famille, the 5 February 1674. She will have six children, five daughters and one son. She died at the age of 40 years, in mid-August 1688, in Saint-François Island of Orleans.

In 1673, once the family reunited on the land conceded in 1664, land on which one finds only a "body of house", the Lepage sell it for 415 books, the Hospitallers. However, it is not before 1677 that the clan moves to Saint-François. Germain, his wife, and their son Rene; Constance, her husband and their two daughters; Louis, his wife and their four children move. The 1681 census shows these three families each developing their heritage. François Garnier and Constance Lepage are neighbors of Louis' family. They own four horned animals and seven arpents of land were cleared. Louis Lepage, more prosperous, has eleven horned beasts and twelve acres of land were highlighted. As for Germain Lepage and Reine Lory, twelve horned beasts and fifty acres of cleared land make their wealth and that of their only heir, René.

Louis Lepage and Sébastienne Loignon will give life to at least fourteen children who will make an alliance with Théberge, Marquis, Béchard, Racine, Fournier, Turcot, Charest, Fontaine, Beaudoin, Pepin, Gagnon, Bilodeau, Damien and LaGrapht.

Sébastienne Loignon was buried at St Francois de Sales on the Island of Orleans, the XNUMX December XNUMX; Louis followed her on November XNUMX XNUMX. Their descendants, numerous, took root on the Island of Orleans. Reine Lory disappears from the records between XNUMX and XNUMX and it is presumed that Germain was widowed when he followed his son René to Rimouski. René belongs to the little history of this city of which he was the first lord. By the many children born of his marriage with Marie-Madeleine Gagnon, he is the ancestor of an important branch of the family tree Lepage. Germain died "in sweetness", the XNUMX February XNUMX. It was then given a hundred years, which contradicts the censuses which concede to him, at most, only eighty-three.

Print E-mail

Histoire des Lepage en Amérique du Nord

Avant de désigner des familles entières, le nom de Lepage aurait été attribué d'abord à des enfants placés auprès des nobles, mais ce nom signifierait également enfant, bourg ou village. Quelques Français portant ce patronyme sont venus s'établir en Nouvelle-France au XVIIe et au XVIIIe siècle. Barthélémy était Normand, Blaise l'était aussi. François-Joseph venait de Picardie, François-Pierre du Limousin et Jacques de l'Angoumois. Les premiers à être venus s'établir ici sont Constance, Louis et Germain. Les deux hommes viennent en Nouvelle-France en éclaireurs. Nés dans la région de Courson-les-Carrières, dans le bourg d'Ouanne, ils sont les fils d'Étienne et Nicole Berthelot. Louis et Germain ont sensiblement le même âge, les recensements de 1666, 1667 et 1681 les faisant naître vers 1640.

Aucun contrat d'engagement ne nous permet de fixer avec certitude la date de leur arrivée dans la colonie. On pense généralement qu'ils débarquent à Québec, vers 1661, à titre d'engagés, pour une période de trente-six mois. Le seul élément qui nous incite à le croire est un document du jeudi 24 janvier 1664 où il est dit qu'à la suite d'une plainte formulée par Charles LeGardeur on devait chercher et emprisonner « le nommé Louis le Page son serviteur domestique (qui) au préjudice des ordonnances (...) avait sans aucun congé quitté son service s'étant retiré en la Côte et Seigneurie de Beaupré ». Voilà un homme qui a passé suffisamment de temps ici pour rêver de n'être le serviteur de personne! Cette évasion a des conséquences que nous ne connaissons malheureusement pas, mais il est certain qu'en juillet de la même année, l'engagement des deux frères est terminé. Le 9, Marie-Barbe de Boullogne, épouse de Louis d'Ailleboust, leur concède quelques arpents à prendre dans la seigneurie d'Argentenay, dans la paroisse de Sainte-Famille.

En 1666, cette terre est déjà divisée entre les deux hommes qui figurent séparément au recensement. L'année suivante, ils partagent la même maison et, déjà, quinze arpents ont été mis « en valeur ». Cette terre commune fera l'objet d'une division officielle, le 24 octobre 1672. On peut s'interroger sur les motifs de cette transaction survenant entre les deux hommes très liés qui prouveront, tout au long des années, que l'harmonie existait entre eux. Mais ce geste leur est imposé par l'arrivée de parents. Le 24 août 1667, devant le notaire Pierre Duquet, Sébastienne Loignon ou Aloignon, fille de Pierre et Marie Roussin, de la paroisse Sainte-Famille, avait promis à Louis Lepage de l'épouser. Elle avait tenu parole et deux enfants, Étienne et Marie-Madeleine étaient venus peupler leur petite maison. On sait maintenant, grâce aux compilations du Répertoire des actes de baptême, mariage, sépulture (...) publié par l'Université de Montréal, qu'au mois d'octobre 1672, d'autres Lepage étaient arrivés de France. En effet, le 27 février 1673, René, Constance et Étienne Lepage sont présents au baptême de Constance Duchesne, née le 12, fille de Pierre et Catherine Rivet. Qui sont ces nouveaux venus si vite intégrés à la petite communauté paroissiale? Constance est la soeur de Louis et Germain. Étienne, dont le nom apparaît pour la seule et unique fois aux registres de cette paroisse, serait peut-être le père de ces trois pionniers. Quant à René, il est le fils de Germain. On a beaucoup douté de la présence au pays de la femme de Germain Lepage. Il est vérifié maintenant qu'elle est arrivée en même temps que les autres membres de la famille Lepage, les registres parlant d'elle sous les noms de Reine, Irène ou Renée Lori, Lory, Lauri et Laury. Elle agit comme marraine à plusieurs baptêmes, donnant ses prénoms à ses nièces Renée Lepage et Reine Guérinet ou Garnier, à Reine Meneux, à RenéeLoignon, à Reine Mesnil et à Reine Deblois. Constance Lepage épouse François Garnier à Sainte-Famille, le 5 février 1674. Elle aura six enfants, cinq filles et un fils. Elle est décédée à l'âge de 40 ans, à la mi-août 1688, à Saint-François de l'Île d'Orléans.

En 1673, une fois la famille réunie sur la terre concédée en 1664, terre sur laquelle on ne trouve qu'un « corps de maison », les Lepage la vendent pour 415 livres, aux Hospitalières. Toutefois, ce n'est pas avant 1677 que le clan se déplace à Saint-François. Germain, sa femme et leur fils René; Constance, son mari et leurs deux filles; Louis, sa femme et leurs quatre enfants déménagent. Le recensement de 1681 nous montre ces trois familles développant chacune leur patrimoine. François Garnier et Constance Lepage sont voisins de la famille de Louis. Ils possèdent alors quatre bêtes à cornes et sept arpents de terre ont été défrichés. Louis Lepage, plus prospère, possède onze bêtes à cornes et douze arpents de terre ont été mis en valeur. Quant à Germain Lepage et à Reine Lory, douze bêtes à cornes et cinquante arpents de terre défrichée font leur richesse et celle de leur unique héritier, René.

Louis Lepage et Sébastienne Loignon donneront la vie à au moins quatorze enfants qui feront alliance avec les Théberge, Marquis, Béchard, Racine, Fournier, Turcot, Charest, Fontaine, Beaudoin, Pépin, Gagnon, Bilodeau, Damien et LaGrapht.

Sébastienne Loignon était inhumée à Saint-François de Sales de l'Île d'Orléans, le 3 décembre 1702; Louis la suivait le 27 novembre 1710. Leur descendance, nombreuse, a pris racine sur l'Île d'Orléans. Reine Lory disparaît des registres entre 1691 et 1696 et on présume que Germain était veuf lorsqu'il a suivi son fils René à Rimouski. René appartient à la petite histoire de cette ville dont il a été le premier seigneur. Par les nombreux enfants issus de son mariage avec Marie-Madeleine Gagnon, il est l'ancêtre d'une importante branche de l'arbre de la famille Lepage. Germain est mort « en odeur de suavité », le 26 février 1723. On lui donnait alors cent un ans, ce que contredisent les recensements qui ne lui en concèdent, au plus, que quatre-vingt-trois.

ImprimerE-mail