Français English

History of Jean Pagési dit St-Amand and Lepage

By Father Gérard Lebel

The surname Pagési may appear of Italian coloring. It is not so. Pagès in Old French means peasant. The pagesi derivative recalls the title of farmer. As for the nickname Saint-Amand, if it appeals to more 18 French localities bearing the name of this saint Belgian bishop who lived in the seventh century.

Jean Pagési was born to 1650 Gémozac, today chief town of canton, district of Saintes, in Charente-Maritime, in old Saintonge. Gemozac stands as an important crossroads leading its arteries to Asintes, Cozes, Pons and Saint-Genis. The demolition of the old castle of Gémozac in 1829 led to the discovery of vast undergrounds.

We know almost nothing of the life of Jean Pagési in France, son of Pierre and Marie Michel. Jean had attended schools; he knew how to sign! jan pagesi.

In Quebec, when Monseigneur de Laval, 15 August 1670, received 44 confirmands, there was in the group a man of about twenty years, the eleventh of the list, bearing the name of Jean Pagési. Impossible to be wrong. It is indeed our ancestor whose many descendants are known by the nicknames Saint-Amand or Lepage.

What strikes the mind at this religious ceremony is that the participants were almost all new immigrants. The contract of commitment of Jean Pagési has not been found yet. What boat had all these newcomers borrowed? Three well-known ships had left La Rochelle for Quebec that year: Hélène de Flessinque, Saint-Pierre and Nouvelle-France. But the first two docked at the quay of the capital 18 August and 21 September. As for the boat New France, it does not report its day of arrival or that of his departure. Would it be he who brought the ancestor Pagési to our shores? Pure hypothesis! There are missing knits in the knitting of our history. Could Jean have arrived with us since 1669?

The second report of the presence of Pagési goes back to 23 October 1672. That day, he was studying the notary Romain Becquet, with Paul Denys de Saint-Simon. The latter, born in Paris, born 13 June 1649, son of Simon, Sieur de la Trinité, and Françoise Dutartre, owned at a place called Saint-Denis, low town of Quebec, a farm of 2 arpents front which 8 in area were cleared, There was a house and a barn built there. Jean undertook to manage "as a good father" this fledgling farm. He promised the landlord to give him each year, at the Candlemas, 20 wheat bush and pea 5. In return, the tenant will be able to take firewood and retain for himself the surplus profits. The engagement would take life on January 1er 1673 and is expected to die three years later, after "finals" completed and completed.

These were the humble beginnings of Jean Pagési among the population of Quebec.

And now, the 7 November 1676, Jean Pagési, said Saint-Amand, presents himself at the house of the notary Antoine Adhemar, then resident in Champlain. Jacques Benoît, a resident of Saint-Éloi, offers Pagési a land of 2 arpents head on the river with a depth of 40. This concession was in the seigniory of Saint-Charles-des-Roches, today Grondines. The seller had obtained it from the Hospital Sisters of the Hôtel-Dieu of Quebec, owners of 3 / 4 of earth-width linker by 3 deep leagues. In 1676, the banal mill was in a position to make good flour.

Jean Pagési promises to pay Benoît the sum of 120 pounds in 2 equal installments. In a single file, signed this sales contract Jan Pagesi, Jacques Benoist, Rene Chartier and the notary. It is also known that, on 18 October 1677, the Hospitallers conceded a land to Jean Pagési in their lordship of Saint-Charles-des-Roches. Jacques Benoît had debts. Antoine Trottier, Sieur des Ruisseaux, demanded from Benoit, the 13 January 1677, that the 120 books he should receive from Pagési be handed over in full in addition to other claims. The agreement was signed at Batiscan, at the house of Trottier.

Is Jean Pagési an unstable man? Unhappy farmer? On 11 October 1677, he sold the land obtained from Jacques Benoît to Jacques Hudde or Heudes, of unknown origin, husband of Marie Meunier for ten years. Price of this sale: 120 pounds and 20 wheat germs. A meager profit. Michel Roy, said Châtellerault, parafa the document in the presence of Louis Poupard and Jacques Chaillé, the seller and the buyer.

Does Pagesi want to leave Saint-Charles-des-Roches? The 3 November 1679, he sells, gives up, leaves, abandons and transports his dwelling of 3 arpents of front of ground and 40 of depth to the poitevin Jean Pousset, husband of Louise Jacquier. The whole is liquidated for the sum of 75 pounds. Decidedly, Pagési took time to grow his wings.
To Lotbinière

The south bank of the river may be less ungrateful than the north shore. The 23 November 1680, Jean Pagési, resident of Lotbinière, is in Quebec City to conclude a deal with businessman Nicolas Marion.

What is this agreement? Pagesi promises to "do well and surely following the coustume hundred cords of hardwood" on the land owned by Marion in the seigneury of Lauzon. John immediately receives 60 payrolls. The other 40 will be paid to him "as and when he needs it". Sign market Marion, Pagési, Duquet and Rageot.

What was Jean's main occupation in Lotbinière? I do not know. At the 1681 census, Jean Pagési, 30 years, is presented as owner owning 2 arpents of land in cultivation. His neighbors are Jean Châtenay, 35 years, and Louis Montenu, 30 years. Do we have an association of singles? Jean Dania and Marguerite Vaillant are the second neighbors of Pagési. These, on the occasion of the baptism of their sixth and last child, appeal to Jean Pagési to sponsor Marie-Madeleine, November 8 1682. The godmother was Marie-Madeleine Tousignan, said Lapointe. Father Claude Volant recorded the act at Pointe-de-Lévis.

Will Jean start his home in Lotbinière? Nothing less certain.

Jean Pagési was to have 34 or 35 years of age when he met Marie-Catherine Gladu. His parents Jean Gladu, known as Cognac, and his mother Marie Langlois had married in Cap-de-la-Madeleine, in the fall of 1665. Marie-Catherine, elder of a worthy family, had been born towards 1667. One of her sisters, Jeanne, will become a servant nun for the poor of Montreal's Hôtel-Dieu.

How to explain that an inhabitant of Lotbinière met a girl he doubled in age at Cap-de-la-Madeleine and proposed marriage to him? It's a well kept secret. It does not appear that they had a matrimonial agreement before a notary. The 14 February 1684, a Monday, according to the custom, Jean and Marie-Catherine received the nuptial blessing of the abbot Louis-Pierre Thury, zealous missionary of the place.

Youth and old age united to found a new family in New France. Where did the founding couple transport their penates? This is what I will try to show in the following lines, on the occasion of the birth of children.

I look forward to introducing the little family of Catherine and Jean. They were 5 subjects: an anonymous, Jeanne, Anne-César, Jean-Baptiste, Catherine-Antoinette. The first, dead at birth, was buried in Batiscan, the 14 February 1685. There was a thatched church in Batiscan from 1683. Father Claude Volant took care of this mission. What were the Pagési doing in Batiscan? No answer. Two years later, Jeanne was born in Montreal where she was baptized 6 October 1687 by the Sulpician Étienne Guyotte, parish priest. At the age of 34 years, the 22 August 1722, Jeanne married the Bordeaux Michel Deveris, son of late parents Pascal and Catherine Janson. The couple remained without posterity.

The ancestor César Marin, sieur of La Masuère, and Marie-Anne Noir, known as Rolland, 21 mars 1690, in Lachine, left as godfather and godmother each half of their name to the little Anne-César Pagési. This one, in Montreal, the 11 December 1712, married the military Pierre Roy, said Potevin; she was responsible for 4 children. The only male child who will pass on to future generations the surname Pagési, known as Saint-Amand, will be named Jean-Baptiste. Born in Lachine October 26 1692, he was the godson of Pierre Cardinal and Clemence Bosne. 6 September 1717, in Quebec City, Jean-Baptiste, miller, married Marie-Anne Ondoyer. Their dozen children were raised in the Montreal area and adopted the nicknames SAINT-AMAND and LEPAGE. Finally, the younger Catherine-Antoinette Pagési married in Champlain, in October 1711, with Jean-Baptiste Hayot, widower in child of Marie-Charlotte Bodel. Their 3 offspring were born in Champlain Parish.

The children of Jean Pagési and Marie-Catherine Gladu took root mainly in the Montreal area where their descendants still live.

"The busy life is long," according to Leonardo da Vinci. The life of Jean Pagési was that of a migrant who never stopped walking. His heart stopped beating in a village new to him.

"The 27 April 1695 died in the communion of our Mother St. Church Cath Ap & Rom Jan Baptiste Pagesi says St Lover lived about 50 cy years before inhabitant of Lachine in lisle of montreal and recently residing in this village of Boucherville, which died suddenly could not receive any sacrament.It was buried in the cemetery of the parish church of the Holy family of Boucherville the 28 April 1695 "...

Signed the act of his funeral surgeon La Baume, Joseph Huet and Jacques Bourdon, all inhabitants of Boucherville.

How did Catherine Gladu give food to the 4 young mouths that surrounded her table? History has left us a touching fact, which still questions us. The 3 July 1708, the widow Pagési resigns herself to engage her son of 12 years, Jean-Baptiste, "during five years", in the service of Louis-Odet Piercot, Sieur de Bailleul, teaches in foot "in the troops of the marine ". The soldier promised to treat his young servant humanely, to feed him and to maintain his clothes, clothes and shoes "according to his condition during the said time". After 5 years of service, Jean-Baptiste will come back with a brand new "mazamet hood", panties, a fashionable tapabord, 6 country liners, 2 pairs of shoes, etc. Nine years later, day to day, the 3 July 1717, Jean-Baptiste passed his marriage contract with Mr.-Anne Ondoyer. He had gone to good school of life.

As for Catherine Gladu, she agreed to remarry only the 1er December 1715. Antoine Boyer, known as Lafrance, a native soldier of the Ile de Ré, was his second husband. Together they lived a happy and peaceful life. Antoine was buried in Montreal, the 2 March 1745; Catherine, November 23 1737, at the age of 72 years.

Despite my good will, I have only touched on the hidden life of Catherine Gladu and Jean Pagési. Can I recall the beautiful stanza of the madelinot poet Roland Jomphe?

"On the ocean of a finite time
Breath the wind of memory
Passing the door of oblivion
To find a little history.

Print E-mail

Français English

Histoire de Jean Pagési dit St-Amand et Lepage

Par le Père Gérard Lebel

Le patronyme Pagési peut paraître de coloration italienne. Il n'en est rien. Pagès en vieux français signifie paysan. Le dérivé pagési rappelle le titre de fermier. Quant au surnom Saint-Amand, if fait appel à plus de 18 localités françaises portant le nom de ce saint évêque belge qui a vécu au VIIe siècle.

Jean Pagési naquit vers 1650 à Gémozac, aujourd'hui chef-lieu de canton, arrondissement de Saintes, en Charente-Maritime, dans l'ancienne Saintonge. Gémozac se présente comme un carrefour important dirigeant ses artères vers Asintes, Cozes, Pons et Saint-Genis. La démolition du vieux château de Gémozac en 1829 a amené la découverte de vastes souterrains.

Nous ignorons presque tout de la vie de Jean Pagési en France, fils de Pierre et de Marie Michel. Jean avait fréquenté les écoles; il savait signer! jan pagesi.

À Québec, lorsque Monseigneur de Laval, le 15 août 1670, recevait 44 confirmands, il y avait dans le groupe un homme d'une vingtaine d'années, le onzième de la liste, portant le nom de Jean Pagési. Impossible de se tromper. Il s'agit bel et bien de notre ancêtre dont plusieurs descendants se reconnaissent par les surnoms Saint-Amand ou Lepage.

Ce qui frappe l'esprit à l'occasion de cette cérémonie religieuse, c'est que les participants étaient presque tous de nouveaux immigrants. Le contrat d'engagement de Jean Pagési n'a pas encore été trouvé. Quel bateau tous ces nouveaux arrivants avaient-ils emprunté? Trois navires bien connus avaient quitté la rade de La Rochelle pour Québec cette année-là: L'Hélène de Flessinque, le Saint-Pierre et La Nouvelle-France. Or, les deux premiers accostèrent au quai de la capitale les 18 août et 21 septembre. Quant au bateau La Nouvelle France, l'on ne signale pas son jour d'arrivée ni celui de son départ. Serait-ce celui qui amena sur nos bords l'ancêtre Pagési? Pure hypothèse! Il manque des mailles dans le tricot de notre histoire. Jean était peut-être arrivé parmi nous depuis 1669?

Le deuxième signalement de la présence de Pagési remonte au 23 octobre 1672. Ce jour-là, il était à l'étude du notaire Romain Becquet, en compagnie de Paul Denys de Saint-Simon. Ce dernier, parisien, né le 13 juin 1649, fils de Simon, sieur de la Trinité, et de Françoise Dutartre, possédait au lieu dit Saint-Denis, basse ville de Québec, une ferme de 2 arpents de front dont 8 en superficie étaient défrichés, Il y avait là une maison et une grange de bâties. Jean s'engagea à gérer "en bon père de famille" cette ferme naissante. Il promit au bailleur de lui remettre chaque année, à la Chandeleur, 20 minots de blé et 5 de pois. En retour, le locataire pourra prendre du bois de chauffage et retenir pour lui le surplus des profits. L'engagement prendrait vie le 1er janvier 1673 et devrait mourir trois ans plus tard, après "trois dépouilles" finies et accomplies.

Tels furent les humbles débuts de Jean Pagési parmi la population de Québec.

Et voilà que, le 7 novembre 1676, Jean Pagési, dit Saint-Amand, se présente à la maison du notaire Antoine Adhémar, pour lors résidant à Champlain. Jacques Benoît, habitant de Saint-Éloi, offre à Pagési une terre de 2 arpents de front sur le fleuve avec une profondeur de 40. Cette concession se trouvait dans la seigneurie de Saint-Charles-des-Roches, aujourd'hui Grondines. Le vendeur l'avait obtenue des soeurs Hospitalières de l'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, propriétaires de 3/4 de lieur de largeur de terre par 3 lieues de profondeur. En 1676, le moulin banal était en état de faire de la bonne farine.

Jean Pagési promet payer à Benoît la somme de 120 livres en 2 versements égaux. À la queue leu leu, signèrent ce contrat de vente Jan Pagesi, Jacques Benoist, René Chartier et le notaire. L'on sait également que, le 18 octobre 1677, les Hospitalières concédèrent une terre à Jean Pagési dans leur seigneurie de Saint-Charles-des-Roches. Jacques Benoît possédait des dettes. Antoine Trottier, sieur des Ruisseaux, exigea de Benoît, le 13 janvier 1677, que les 120 livres qu'il doit recevoir de Pagési lui soient remises en entier en plus des autres créances. L'entente fut signée à Batiscan, à la maison de Trottier.

Jean Pagési est-il un homme instable? Cultivateur malchanceux? Le 11 octobre 1677, il revendit la terre obtenue de Jacques Benoît à Jacques Hudde ou Heudes, d'origine inconnue, époux de Marie Meunier depuis une dizaine d'années. Prix de cette vente: 120 livres et 20 minots de blé. Un maigre profit. Michel Roy, dit Châtellerault, parafa le document en présence de Louis Poupard et de Jacques Chaillé, du vendeur et de l'acheteur.

Pagési veut-il quitter Saint-Charles-des-Roches? Le 3 novembre 1679, il vend, cède, quitte, délaisse et transporte son habitation de 3 arpents de front de terre et de 40 de profondeur au poitevin Jean Pousset, mari de Louise Jacquier. Le tout est liquidé pour la somme de 75 livres. Décidément, Pagési prenait du temps à faire pousser ses ailes.
Vers Lotbinière

La rive sud du fleuve sera peut-être moins ingrate que la rive nord. Le 23 novembre 1680, Jean Pagési, habitant de Lotbinière, est à Québec pour conclure un marché avec l'homme d'affaires Nicolas Marion.

Quel est donc cet accord? Pagési promet "faire bien et duement suivant la coustume cent cordes de bois franc" sur la terre que possède Marion dans la seigneurie de Lauzon. Jean reçoit immédiatement 60 livres de salaire. Les 40 autres lui seront versées "a fur et a mesure qu'il en aura besoin". Signent le marché Marion, Pagési, Duquet et Rageot.

Quelle fut l'occupation principale de Jean dans Lotbinière? Je l'ignore. Au recensement de 1681, Jean Pagési, 30 ans, est présenté comme propriétaire possédant 2 arpents de terre en culture. Ses voisins sont Jean Châtenay, 35 ans, et Louis Montenu, 30 ans. Avons-nous affaire à une association de célibataires? Jean Dania et Marguerite Vaillant sont les deuxièmes voisins de Pagési. Ceux-ci, à l'occasion du baptême de leur sixième et dernier enfant, font appel à Jean Pagési pour parrainer Marie-Madeleine, le 8 novembre 1682. La marraine était Marie-Madeleine Tousignan, dit Lapointe. L'abbé Claude Volant inscrivit l'acte à la Pointe-de-Lévis.

Jean fondera-t-il son foyer à Lotbinière? Rien de moins certain.

Jean Pagési devait avoir 34 ou 35 ans d'âge lorsqu'il rencontra Marie-Catherine Gladu. Ses parents Jean Gladu, dit Cognac, et sa mère Marie Langlois s'étaient mariés au Cap-de-la-Madeleine, à l'automne de 1665. Marie-Catherine, aînée d'une digne famille, avait vu le jour vers 1667. L'une de ses soeurs, Jeanne, deviendra religieuse servante des pauvres de l'Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal.

Comment expliquer qu'un habitant de Lotbinière rencontra une fille qu'il doublait en âge au Cap-de-la-Madeleine et lui proposa mariage? C'est un secret bien gardé. Il ne semble pas qu'ils aient passé une convention matrimoniale devant un notaire. Le 14 février 1684, un lundi, selon la coutume, Jean et Marie-Catherine reçurent la bénédiction nuptiale de l'abbé Louis-Pierre Thury, zélé missionnaire de l'endroit.

La jeunesse et l'âge mûr s'unissaient pour fonder une famille nouvelle en Nouvelle-France. Où le couple fondateur transporta-t-il ses pénates? C'est ce que j'essaierai de montrer dans les lignes suivantes, à l'occasion de la naissance des enfants.

Il me tarde de présenter la petite famille de Catherine et de Jean. Ils furent 5 sujets: un anonyme, Jeanne, Anne-César, Jean-Baptiste, Catherine-Antoinette. Le premier, mort à sa naissance, fut inhumé à Batiscan, le 14 février 1685. Il y avait une église couverte de chaume à Batiscan depuis 1683. L'abbé Claude Volant s'occupait de cette mission. Que faisaient les Pagési à Batiscan? Aucune réponse. Deux ans plus tard, Jeanne naissait à Montréal où elle fut baptisée le 6 octobre 1687 par le sulpicien Étienne Guyotte, curé. À l'âge de 34 ans, le 22 août 1722, Jeanne se maria avec le bordelais Michel Deveris, fils de parents défunts Pascal et Catherine Janson. Le couple demeura sans postérité.

L'ancêtre César Marin, sieur de La Masuère, et Marie-Anne Noir, dit Rolland, le 21 mars 1690, à Lachine, laissèrent comme parrain et marraine chacun la moitié de leur prénom à la petite Anne-César Pagési. Celle-ci, à Montréal, le 11 décembre 1712, épousait le militaire Pierre Roy, dit Potevin; elle eut la responsabilité de 4 enfants. Le seul enfant mâle qui transmettra aux générations à venir le patronyme Pagési, dit Saint-Amand, sera nommé Jean-Baptiste. Né à Lachine le 26 octobre 1692, il fut le filleul de Pierre Cardinal et de Clémence Bosne. Le 6 septembre 1717, à Québec, Jean-Baptiste, meunier, épousait Marie-Anne Ondoyer. Leur douzaine de marmots furent élevés dans la région de Montréal et adoptèrent les surnoms SAINT-AMAND et LEPAGE. Enfin, la cadette Catherine-Antoinette Pagési se maria à Champlain, au mois d'octobre 1711, avec Jean-Baptiste Hayot, veuf dans enfant de Marie-Charlotte Bodel. Leurs 3 rejetons naquirent dans la paroisse de Champlain.

Les enfants de Jean Pagési et de Marie-Catherine Gladu prirent surtout racine dans la région de Montréal où leurs descendants vivent toujours.

"La vie bien remplie est longue", selon Léonard de Vinci. La vie de Jean Pagési fut celle d'un migrant qui ne cessa de marcher. Son coeur s'arrêta de battre dans un village encore nouveau pour lui.

"Le 27 avril 1695 est décédé dans la communion de nôtre Mere la Ste Eglise Cath. Ap. & Rom. Jan Baptiste Pagesi dit St Amant aagé d'environ 50 ans cy devant habitant de la chine en lisle de montreal et depuis peu demeurant dans ce village de Boucherville, lequel etant mort subitement n'a pu recevoir aucun sacrement. Il a ête inhumé dans le cimetiere de l'eglise Paroissiale de la Ste famille de Boucherville le 28 avril 1695"...

Signèrent l'acte de ses funérailles le chirurgien La Baume, Joseph Huet et Jacques Bourdon, tous habitants de Boucherville.

Comment Catherine Gladu réussit-elle à donner à manger aux 4 jeunes bouches qui encerclaient sa table? L'histoire nous a laissé un fait touchant, qui nous interroge encore. Le 3 juillet 1708, la veuve Pagési se résigne à engager son fils de 12 ans, Jean-Baptiste, "pendant cinq ans", au service de Louis-Odet Piercot, sieur de Bailleul, enseigne en pied "dans les troupes de la marine". Le militaire promettait de traiter humainement son jeune serviteur, de le nourrir et d'entretenir ses hardes, linges et chaussures "suivant sa condition pendant ledit temp". Après 5 années de service, Jean-Baptiste reviendra avec un "capot de mazamet" tout neuf, des culottes, un tapabord à la mode, 6 chemises de toile du pays, 2 paires de souliers, etc. Neuf ans plus tard, jour pour jour, soit le 3 juillet 1717, Jean-Baptiste passait son contrat de mariage avec M.-Anne Ondoyer. Il était allé à bonne école de la vie.

Quant à Catherine Gladu, elle ne consentit à se remarier que le 1er décembre 1715. Antoine Boyer, dit Lafrance, soldat natif de l'Île de Ré, fut son second mari. Ensemble ils vécurent une vie heureuse et tranquille. Antoine fut enterré à Montréal, le 2 mars 1745; Catherine, le 23 novembre 1737, à l'âge de 72 ans.

Malgré ma bonne volonté, je n'ai qu'effleuré la vie cachée de Catherine Gladu et de Jean Pagési. Puis-je rappeler la belle strophe du poète madelinot Roland Jomphe?

"Sur l'océan d'un temps fini
Souffle le vent de la mémoire
Passant la porte de l'oubli
Pour y chercher un peu d'histoire".

Imprimer E-mail